1. Home
  2. Spend DOGE
Such shopping

Who accepts Dogecoin? Real places to spend DOGE

Who accepts Dogecoin today? Fewer merchants than the 2021 hype promised, but more routes than you’d think. Here are verified merchants, processors, gift cards and cards, with the status of each one clearly marked.

Our buttons open CEX.IO, an exchange running since 2013. In the US it is registered with NMLS (#1804170) and lists money-transmitter licences in 38 states plus DC; in the UK it is registered with the FCA for anti-money-laundering purposes (firm 1007192). Check that it serves your country first.

Updated: 18+. Crypto is volatile and you can lose money. Not financial advice.

Ways to spend DOGE

tap a tab
Rare but real

A handful of merchants take DOGE at checkout, usually through BitPay. Look for a BitPay or crypto option on the payment page and confirm DOGE is in the coin list before paying.

Speed
About a minute per block
Network fee
Under 1 US cent typically
Examples
AMC (US app)
On this page
  1. Quick answer
  2. Who accepts Dogecoin
  3. Does Tesla accept DOGE?
  4. Payment processors
  5. Gift cards
  6. Dogecoin debit cards
  7. How to pay with DOGE
  8. Accepting DOGE as a business
  9. Tax when you spend
  10. Questions people ask

Quick answer

So who accepts Dogecoin? Direct acceptance by big-name shops is rarer than the 2021 headlines suggested. The clearest verified case is AMC Theatres, whose US mobile app began taking DOGE through BitPay in April 2022. Tesla’s merch store and the Dallas Mavericks both launched DOGE payments in 2021–2022, but we could not confirm that either offer is still live in October 2026.

Most real-world spending runs through three routes instead: payment processors that let a shop take DOGE without touching it, gift cards bought with DOGE, and plain wallet-to-wallet payments such as tips. Because Dogecoin blocks arrive about once a minute and the median network fee was roughly $0.001 on 14 October 2026, DOGE is genuinely practical for small payments. Such fee, very cheap. Below we only name merchants whose DOGE acceptance research could confirm, and we label everything else.

Businesses that accept Dogecoin: what we could verify

Lists of “stores that accept Dogecoin” are everywhere, and most are padded with brands that only sell gift cards through a processor or that dropped crypto years ago. Here is our more conservative list, checked against original announcements and the BitPay merchant directory on 14 October 2026.

Merchants linked to Dogecoin payments and how sure we are (14 Oct 2026)
MerchantWhat you can buyHowStatus
AMC Theatres (US)Tickets and more in the US appBitPayIn BitPay directory, checked 14 Oct 2026
TeslaSelected merch only, not carsDirect from your walletLaunched Jan 2022; current status unverified
Dallas MavericksTickets and merchBitPayLaunched Mar 2021; current status unverified
NeweggElectronicsBitPayIn BitPay directory; DOGE at checkout unverified
MicrosoftNot statedNot statedClaimed in an ETP factsheet; not confirmed by Microsoft

AMC Theatres first accepted DOGE for digital gift cards in October 2021, then enabled DOGE and SHIB in its US mobile app via BitPay on 15 April 2022, as TechCrunch reported. AMC still appears as a BitPay merchant. The Dallas Mavericks announced DOGE for tickets and merch on 4 March 2021 and processed more than 20,000 DOGE transactions in under two days, per Bloomberg; we couldn’t confirm that the option still exists.

Newegg sits in the BitPay directory, but the directory doesn’t show which coins each merchant takes, so “Newegg accepts DOGE” remains unverified at merchant level. Microsoft is named as a DOGE-accepting company in a 21Shares product factsheet; that is an issuer’s marketing claim we could not confirm with Microsoft. And for completeness: X Money, the payments service from Elon Musk’s X, launched nationwide in the US on 27 July 2026 as a fiat-only product with no DOGE, according to TechTimes. Our Elon Musk and Dogecoin timeline covers the rest of that story.

Does Tesla accept Dogecoin?

Partly, at least historically. Elon Musk tweeted on 14 December 2021 that Tesla would make some merch buyable with DOGE, and on 14 January 2022 the option went live for selected items such as the Cyberwhistle, a belt buckle and the Cyberquad for Kids, per Fox Business. You paid from your own DOGE wallet, not through an exchange account. It never covered cars.

Whether the DOGE option is still available in October 2026 is unverified: Tesla’s Dogecoin support page blocked our checks. If you want to try it, open Tesla’s online shop in your region and look for DOGE at checkout before moving any coins. And remember the lesson from that era: the two Tesla merch announcements were followed by DOGE price jumps of up to about 20 percent, which says more about speculation than about shopping.

Red cartoon rocket blasting off, a nod to Dogecoin’s moon memes
Merch, not Model 3sTesla’s DOGE checkout launched for small merch items, never for cars.

Payment processors: how most DOGE spending really works

A payment processor sits between your wallet and the shop. You send DOGE to a one-time address, the processor confirms it and the merchant usually receives dollars or euros. Three processors list DOGE on their own sites as of 14 October 2026:

  • BitPay lists Dogecoin among the coins you can use to shop online, alongside BTC, ETH, LTC and BCH. Many brands in its directory, such as Walmart, Uber Eats or Delta, are gift-card purchases via BitPay rather than direct merchant acceptance.
  • NOWPayments lists DOGE among its popular coins for merchants.
  • CoinGate lets merchants accept DOGE and settle in USD, EUR, GBP, other crypto or DOGE, with a fee it describes as under 1% per transaction.

We could not verify DOGE support for Coinbase Commerce, so we don’t list it. When a checkout shows a processor’s QR code, it will specify the network: always pay on the Dogecoin network, never a wrapped BEP-20 or other token version.

Buying gift cards with Dogecoin

Gift cards are the widest door. You pick a brand, pay in DOGE and receive a code you redeem like any other gift card. That’s how DOGE indirectly reaches shops that have never touched crypto. BitPay’s directory is the verified example; plenty of the well-known brands listed there are gift-card routes.

Bitrefill is often mentioned for this, but its pages blocked our checks, so we can’t confirm its current DOGE support. The same honesty applies to Amazon: we found no evidence it accepts DOGE directly, so any “pay Amazon in Dogecoin” route is a gift-card route through a third party. Two tips: check that the brand works in your country before paying, and buy only from the processor’s own site or app, because fake gift-card shops are a common scam. Our guide to Dogecoin scams lists the warning signs.

Need DOGE for that gift card?Buy a small amount, send it to your own wallet, and you’re ready to check out.

Buy DOGE

Dogecoin debit cards

A crypto debit card lets you hold crypto in an app and spend it anywhere the card network is accepted; the issuer sells your coins for fiat at the moment you pay. It’s the most convenient way to spend DOGE in practice, but the card market changes quickly. CEX.IO’s card, for example, was discontinued on 3 February 2026, even though an old line on its buy page still mentions it.

We have not verified any specific card that supports DOGE today, so we won’t name one. Before you apply, check three things on the issuer’s own site: that DOGE is on the supported-coin list for your country, what the conversion spread and card fees are, and whether the provider is licensed where you live. Note the difference from our guide to buying Dogecoin with a card, which is about using a bank card to buy DOGE, not spending it.

How to pay with Dogecoin, step by step

Paying from a self-custody wallet is quick once you’ve done it once. Paying straight from an exchange also works, but exchanges add withdrawal fees and minimums; Bitvavo, for instance, charges a 3.9 DOGE withdrawal fee with a 14 DOGE minimum.

  1. Get DOGE into a wallet

    Buy on an exchange and withdraw to your own Dogecoin wallet, choosing the Dogecoin network.

  2. Choose DOGE at checkout

    The shop or processor shows an amount, a D… address or a QR code, and usually a countdown timer because the price is locked for a short time.

  3. Scan or paste carefully

    Scan the QR code or paste the address, then check the first and last characters. Send the exact amount shown.

  4. Let the wallet set the fee

    The network fee is typically well under one US cent. If the amount arrives short, many checkouts flag it as underpaid, so send exactly what is shown.

  5. Wait for confirmation

    Blocks arrive about once a minute. Shops and processors set their own confirmation rules, so it may take a few minutes before the order is marked paid.

For comparison, exchanges are cautious: Robinhood credits DOGE deposits after 20 confirmations, Bitvavo after 40 and Coinbase after 50, which still means roughly an hour at most because blocks arrive about every minute. Our Dogecoin network page explains fees and confirmations in more depth.

How to accept Dogecoin payments as a business

For most shops, a processor is the sensible route. BitPay, NOWPayments and CoinGate all list DOGE, handle the checkout page and can convert to fiat so you never carry crypto price risk. Compare fees, settlement currencies, payout times and which countries they serve; CoinGate, for example, quotes under 1% per transaction and settles in USD, EUR or GBP.

If you are technical and want to self-host, the Dogecoin Foundation’s GigaWallet is an open-source Go backend for businesses that want to take DOGE through an API, with a companion payment-protocol spec. It is labelled beta, so treat it as a project to test rather than a plug-in checkout. Small creators and freelancers can simply publish a DOGE address or use a tipping app, and if you later want to convert takings to cash, see how to sell Dogecoin.

Tax when you spend Dogecoin

Spending DOGE can be a taxable event. In the US, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so paying for something with DOGE is generally treated like selling it: if the coins rose in value since you bought them, you may owe tax on the gain, reported on Form 8949. Brokers report gross proceeds on Form 1099-DA from 2025, with cost basis for certain transactions from 2026. Our Dogecoin in the United States page has the rate details.

Other countries differ. In Germany, private crypto disposals held for more than one year are tax-free, a rule a September 2026 draft reform proposes to change for coins bought after 2026 (see our Germany page). Check your own country’s guide from our country hub before you treat a coffee bought in DOGE as tax-free.

Our take

DOGE is good at being spent: fast blocks and fees well under a cent make it one of the more practical coins for small payments. The weak link is merchants, not the network. Use processors and gift cards for shopping, wallet-to-wallet for tips, and treat any “accepts DOGE” claim without a recent source as unverified until you see it at checkout. Looking for more DOGE to spend? Our guide to free Dogecoin and earn offers separates the real ones from the traps.

Questions people ask

Who accepts Dogecoin?+

Direct acceptance is rarer than headlines suggest. AMC Theatres took DOGE in its US app via BitPay from April 2022, Tesla launched DOGE payments for selected merch in January 2022 and the Dallas Mavericks accepted it from March 2021, but we could not confirm the current status of the Tesla and Mavericks offers. Most spending today goes through processors and gift cards.

Does Tesla accept Dogecoin?+

Tesla started accepting DOGE for selected merchandise, such as the Cyberwhistle, on 14 January 2022. It has never covered cars. We could not verify whether the option is still live in October 2026, so check Tesla’s shop before you send anything.

Can I buy on Amazon with Dogecoin?+

We found no evidence that Amazon accepts DOGE directly. The usual route is buying a gift card from a service that accepts DOGE, but check which brands the gift-card seller currently offers in your country.

Is there a Dogecoin debit card?+

Some crypto cards let you spend from a crypto balance, converting to fiat at checkout. We have not verified a specific card that currently supports DOGE, so check the issuer’s supported-coin list. X Money, the payments service from X, launched fiat-only with no DOGE support.

How much does it cost to pay with Dogecoin?+

The Dogecoin network fee is typically well under one US cent; the median was about $0.001 on 14 Oct 2026 per Blockchair. Your wallet or exchange may add its own withdrawal fee, and a processor may apply a conversion rate.

How can my business accept Dogecoin?+

The simplest route is a payment processor that supports DOGE, such as BitPay, NOWPayments or CoinGate. CoinGate lets merchants settle in USD, EUR or GBP with a fee under 1% per transaction. Developers can also look at the Dogecoin Foundation’s GigaWallet, which is still in beta.

Sources & further reading

  1. BitPay — merchant directory and supported coins — checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. NOWPayments — supported coins — checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. CoinGate — accept Dogecoin — checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. Fox Business — Tesla merch buyable with Dogecoin — January 2022
  5. TechCrunch — AMC app accepts Dogecoin — 18 Apr 2022
  6. Bloomberg — Mavericks to accept Dogecoin — 4 Mar 2021
  7. TechTimes — X Money nationwide launch, fiat only — 28 Jul 2026
  8. Dogecoin Foundation — GigaWallet on GitHub — checked 14 Oct 2026
  9. Blockchair — Dogecoin stats (fees) — 14 Oct 2026
  10. IRS — Digital assets — last reviewed 2 Sep 2026

Want DOGE to spend?

Buy a small amount on a licensed exchange, withdraw it to your own wallet on the Dogecoin network, and you’re ready to pay, tip or grab a gift card.

To the moon

18+. Crypto is volatile and you can lose money. Not financial advice.